top of page

DIY Wedding dress - Part 3

Now it's time for the difficult part: choosing the fabric. If you decide to go for a traditional white or champagne colour there’s plenty of choice in silk, tulle or lace.

Here are some addresses in London or around, where you can find some nice bridal fabrics:

Joel & Son Fabrics - 73 Church St, London NW8 8EU

This is where you can find a lot of Couture fabrics! I love this shop (even if the prices are crazy sometimes ^^) But you can really find something exceptional for your big day!

Jason’s Fabrics - 310-312 Edgware Rd, London W2 1DY

Not far from Joel & Son, again Couture Fabrics with some beautiful Valentino lace!

Hansson Of Guildford - 108 Woodbridge Rd, City Centre, Guildford GU1 4PY

Small shop in Guildford but quite a lot of choice for bridal fabrics! Lovely lace especially the macramé!

Crystal Clover - 14-16 Ewell Rd, London SM3 8BU

Here is the main store I shopped for my fabric. I was looking for a premium blue tulle and some gold appliqués. I also bought the nude lining there. I would advise to have a look at Dance fabric stores as they have original colours for tulle and lace as well as a lot of trim decorations.

C & H Fabrics - Tunsgate Square Shopping Centre, 6A Tunsgate Square, Guildford, Surrey GU1 3QZ

This shop is interesting for test fabric like muslin or linen. They have as well some nice dupion silk at a good price.

So I decided to take a nude tan lycra for the underdress. This fabric is quite heavy so I would suggest to use it only if you are having your wedding in autumn or winter. I would advise to go for something lighter for summer like a beautiful chiffon silk.

For the upperdress, I choose the beautiful Ocean Blue premium tulle from Crystal Clover. I also bought some gold applique for the finishing part.

First, I’ve made the underpart with some nude straps. The fabric being completely different from the test fabric I used, it wasn’t easy to sew at the first time.

Then I did the same with the tulle for the upper dress.

My first idea was to have something fit around the waist adding more tulle on the skirt part but I was not satisfied with the result even with the appliques on top. I did some test draping the tulle on top then adding the applique and it looks better.

I also added more tulle on the skirt part to give some volume.

Then I put the gold applique on the front and back. I really wanted to have something special at the back as you spend a lot of time during the ceremony turning your back at the audience!

It was a long project that lasted almost a year to plan and make. I hope it gave you some ideas for your own project! Do not hesitate to contact me if you need some help with your project :)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page